top of page

By Night When Others Soundly Slept - Anne Bradstreet


Anne Bradstreet is talking about her relationship with God throughout her poem, "By Night When Others Soundly Slept." I found it interesting how much she loved the relationship she had with God.

"By night when others soundly slept and hath at once both ease and rest, my waking eyes were open kept and so to lie I found it best."

She discusses how the time that she spoke to God most was when she was trying to sleep at night. She states how she would lay down with her eyes open and rest while others were asleep.

"I sought him whom my Soul did Love, with tears I sought him earnestly. He bow’d his ear down from above. In vain I did not seek or cry."

Bradstreet talks about how God would bow his ear down to listen to what she had to say and how all her fears would go away once she knew he was listening to her. The relationship that Bradstreet has with God is very close. She trusts and loves him very much.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page