top of page

A Room Of One's Own, Chapter One - Virginia Woolf


I was surprised and intrigued that I really enjoyed reading Virginia Woolf's chapter one.

"At any rate, when a subject is highly controversial- and any question about sex is that-one cannot hope to tell the truth. One can only show how one came to hold whatever openion one does hold."

I read this and agreed with it instantly. Woolf is right. No matter how hard you try to tell someone the truth, you will always be trying to prove and tell them YOUR truth and what you believe. People will always do this, Woolf is 100% right.

"It is strange how a scrap of poetry works in the mind and makes the legs move in time to it along the road."

Since I am not an avid poetry reader, I related this to music. I love listening to music; it keeps me calm, cool, and collected, espeically when studying or doing homework. It takes me to "another world" without even noticing. The second the music is stopped, I jump right back into reality.

I really enjoyed reading Virginia's "A Room of One's Own" first chapter. I feel like if she were alive right now, she would definitely be someone I would enjoy talking to.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page